The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Fuel Pump Tips?

BpuVR4

this is the kit that came in the mail. if you guys see anything missing that I'd need to do this job, i'd appreciate some chiming in. Like i said, its my first time doing this kind of pump, and the fact its been rewired prev kinda makes me wary. But gotta do what you gotta do.

JNR

BE CAREFUL if those are steel nuts/screws/lines, as in don't cut them with a dremel: Sparks and gas fumes don't mix! I realize this is outside the tank, but any little leak will produce fumes and those are what's so explosive.

when I did mine, I pulled the entire assembly out, cleaned it up real good and then proceeded to work on it...you don't want to mess with gasoline is all I'm saying.

Sounds like you got it out? But if not, then keep trying with manual tools.

Last edited:

BpuVR4

JNR, i took a break. I think i can save the studs if i do this right. HOWEVER...as much time as I took in trying to figure out which pump is the right one to get, I of course end up getting the pump with ports on opposite sides. I guess i got fooled when the ad said specifically for a GVR4. Great.

JNR

The ports are backwards? You mean the inlet or out or ?

Yeah, being on top of the gas tank is tricky, cause you can't really use heat, either, which helps most of the time.

BpuVR4

this little pic. I have the one on the right.

img.php

JNR