The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Newbie here from NH! 1992 GVR4 760/1000

FilthyEvo

Hey guys,

Just picked up 760/1000, and have already ran into some problems. One of the prior owners had done a wire tuck, and the guy I bought the car off of reverted some of the wire tuck back to OEM spec. Needless to say, the wiring is a MESS.

After a quick "once-over", I noticed a few random plugs just hanging out in the bay, some wires feel brittle, the negative battery cable is just a wire "clamped" to the negative terminal, and the AC coolant sensor wires are so brittle and just fell apart (not connected to wherever they should run).

Anyways, I will be cleaning the car up and getting things sorted out. The car ran beautifully in 40* weather, and although it was tough to start after it sat for about 15 mins, it was very smooth when revved out. Now, today is 0* and the car is impossible to start. Since I found the AC coolant sensor wires brittle and disconnected, I assume that the Coolant Temp sensor that runs to the ECU is in the same condition.

Unfortunately, it's -2* right now and we're in the middle of a blizzard, so I cannot go diagnose the issue. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif