The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Serious Knock issue

Rallytimebitches

First things first, I am very new to tuning turbo cars. Ive owned more than one vr4 but have never gotten around to heavily modifying one.

Anyway, Bought 659/1000 recently and have had the timing belt, water pump, balancing shafts, oil pump, engine seals, and drive belts, and some other minor things replaced. Since I got the car back from the shop, my idle has changed from 800 to 1050, and the car has NO power and the knock sensor (converted factory boost guage) is going nuts! I dont have a data logger yet, and am simply trying to get my car back to the way it was. I'm considering ECMlink v3 to start learning more about tuning, and possibly fix the car myself, as the shop I took it to screwed it up and cant seem to figure out how to reverse what they did to the car.

The base timing was set at 7 degrees, then to combat knock, was changed to 3 degrees base, and nothing changed.

Here's a list of current mods to the vehicle:

Recent new Evo III 16G turbo
Evo III high nickel exhaust manifold
Turbo back 2.5" custom exhaust with hi flow cat

Evo III turbo
Evo III exhaust manifold
socketed ECU with keydiver Stage II EPROM

The car used to reach peak boost of 13psi at WOT with little to no knock, now will start knock as soon as boost begins to build, even when I am only at 60% throttle.
Let me know if you need any more info. Sorry I dont have a logger yet I wish I could put up a log for everyone to see.