The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Rebuilding the head, is it worth it doing it

alik

by your lonesome, or, just suck it up and hand it over to the engine shop (knowledgeable, used him in the past)
(for the record, I've never done the engine before, but, I know the business end of a wrench)

Last edited:

dsmtalontsi95

I said let the pro do it, but it depends on what your doing to it. I would have it built with larger valves and machine the valve seats also if you have ever put springs in with the little hand tool (where you put the retainers in to) it sucks. Of course I only weigh 150 lbs so I don't have much ass bahind it.

broxma

It depends on exactly what you have to do. If I do a leakdown test and am running 90+ in all 4 with no indication of leaks at the seat, I just pop the springs and replace the valve seals. Anyone can do that really. An 8" C-clamp from Home Depot, a Dremel and an spark plug socket is what I use for the compressor.