The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Does my turbo require an o-ring???

prove_it

I'm no expert, but I think that when welding the aluminum elbow on there wouldn't be enough heat to warp it. I know with a TIG weld its very localized heat and won't warp aluminum.

Sounds like you have a small hairline crack. Also where the bolts go in, I would put RTV on the bolts to seal up the threads, it could be pushing past the bolt.

MellowVR4

I dont believe so??? But I will defently check when I take it apart again.

James

*plug*

I'll be putting my evo3 16g up for sale soon if you're looking for a cheap(er) replacement turbo.

MellowVR4

Quoting prove_it:
I'm no expert, but I think that when welding the aluminum elbow on there wouldn't be enough heat to warp it. I know with a TIG weld its very localized heat and won't warp aluminum.

Sounds like you have a small hairline crack. Also where the bolts go in, I would put RTV on the bolts to seal up the threads, it could be pushing past the bolt.

Their is only one bolt that goes threw the housing which I have sealer on that one for sure. It was tig welded, if i cant make this work i might need a 16g or, im gonna weld that seam, I know i wont be able to take it apart after that, but oh well. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

MellowVR4

Quoting James:
*plug*

I'll be putting my evo3 16g up for sale soon if you're looking for a cheap(er) replacement turbo.