The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Q about repairing HKS bov

BpuVR4

ok, so i found out my HKS Super Sound bov is leaking big time- through the horn area at idle. It was at night when i opened the hood, and i thought the fan was on there was that much air flowing, and idling at 3k! I have zero experience with blow off valves. Wondering if anyone knows if I can just replace the spring- and if so where do i get it? I would like to try to fix this one if i could. I've never taken apart a bov, and this is the one that came on the car- def not what I would've picked. As of right now, it is vented to atmosphere- yes, yes i have plans to rectify this mistake.

Or is it just time to get another one? I realize these are held in by snap rings as someone else on this forum informed me. Will the HKS SSQV fit, or do i need to get another ic pipe? Any help will be appreciated.

kama1

Just get a new one.newer ssqv would bolt right in.
Other brands will require you to use a different flange/pipe.

G

Staff member
Disconnect the vacuum line to it and see if it still leaks.

BpuVR4

just an fyi, the pic is not of my bov, and i dont have a vacuum line hooked up to the port in the rear- that is busted off. just used the pic for reference purposes in id'ing the HKS bov

G

Staff member
Well their you go, you solved the problem on your own.

BpuVR4

well, ive never had that port hooked up the whole time ive had it, and in fact have been told not to by some.