The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Ignition / Door Lock Key

idreamidrive

Since I worked as a mechanic I have been anal about having sharp, not worn down, keys for my car. The reason for this is that a worn key will kill a lock cylinder. I have seen it on too many cars. Going to the dealer to have the key cut to your VIN is usually included in the price of a key, at least for Chrysler/Honda/Ford/GM, but apparently this is not the case down in SoCal? Is this typical for Mitsubishi dealers: Charge you the key price and then $25 to cut the key to the VIN? I understand they need the VIN and proof of ownership, but really and extra charge? If this is really the case, does anybody have a hook up for this?

I actually tried to call a Dodge dealer here to have the key cut to VIN as I have had it done for an Eagle before thinking it might work, but no luck.

G

Staff member
That's why it's called the "stealership".

slugsgomoo

Cutting to the VIN is always expensive, try a non-dealer locksmith, still expensive but might be a bit cheaper. If you have the key code tag, it may be slightly cheaper.

For what it's worth I paid for it once, and then had a bazillion copies made, and I keep the new original in a safe spot.

mitsuturbo

Is a bazillion more than eleventy jillion, or is it less? I need to know how many spares i should have made.

KiNgMaRtY

Try Riverside Mitsubishi. I remember I had one cut by Vin for like $10 5 years ago for a 1g DSM

92_talon_awd