The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Buying vr4 next week

91Vr4white

Just signed up on the forum thought I'd say hi. I'm buying a 91 vr4 galant next week and need advice. I'm a mechanic by profession and a mustang enthusiast. I have a 10 sec street fox mustang.

Anyway the car has almost 200 k on it and needs a lot of TLC but I'm picking it up for $500 and it seems pretty solid. It does need struts all the way around just wondering how you guys would go? My end goal with this car is a decently quick reliable daily driver. I can get stock replacement stuff pretty cheap but was wondering how much more cost effective that would be over aftermarket. Nothing fancy maybe some height adjustment or something.

Any common issues I'd need to address? Once I get the car and get it to the shop ill know
More. Owner says it has a possible bad half shaft in the rear. Any chance that
Could be the rear diff? Car is stck an has not been beaten on.

Any advice is welcome

DR1665

Quick daily driver can be built piecemeal from OEMfar cheaper than aftermarket. 4g63 is known to handle 400bhp on stock internals with a good tune. Snag stock Evo bits like cams, injectors, fuel pump for cheap because so many of them think thwy need forged bottom ends to run 12s and park on campus. Run 2g DSM pistons for a nice bump in compression for improved engine efficiency and throttle response. Consider making an adapter harness so you install an Evo ECU (or $50 3G Eclipse) and flash tune it on the dyno without spending stupid money on a standalone EMS.