The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

2G MAF on GVR4 - what else is needed?

crazydriver81

Saying hi to you GVR4 Pro's.

As I am new to the whole GVR4 topic, I'd like to ask for some details regarding the MAF sensor. I have read some info about "how to" install a 2g MAF on vfaq and that the 2g MAF is better, because it has a bigger diameter and flows more air.

There are also adapter harnesses available on here, so it seems this is a common mod?

Can someone please tell me (or point me to the respective thread as I haven't found it) what else is necessary to run a 2g MAF in a GVR4? Is it a job of replacing one MAF for another or is there some adjusting with an AFC necessary for the unmodified stock engine?

Further, is this a worthwile mod when considering a 16G turbo and an improved fuel supply at a later stage?

Thanks so much for shed some light on me. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/worthy.gif

coyotes

You can run one bit you need larger injectors to compensate. I researched this recently and it doesn't seem to be worth it until you have a way to give it all a proper tune.

gvr4ever

Yes, it is a worth while mod as the stock unit is rather limited on how much air it can count. The 2G will allow you to run more boost. As for tuning. Not sure. I used this click , but I haven't seen him active on here for a really long time. This might be a solution. click