The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Air Conditioning Problem

I am a HVAC tech. for residential and commericial applications. I do not due much with automotive. I have a 1991 Vr4 and the air conditioning has been fine. No leaks in its history. The other evening a met a few other guys in my area who both have vr4's. My Vr4 is stock and they asked me if I wanted to put the k&n intake with the chopped box on b/c they had a spare one. I let them do the work which took a few minutes. I made a few hard runs on the car to see monitor the new intake performance. At that point I noticed that with the AC selected in the car no cold air was blowing out. Keep in mind I was just using the AC this same evening and it was fine. I dont know if while installing the intake something happened or if it is just coincidental. Either way, it dooesnt seem like my compressor is turning on. I only hear the condensor fan turn on but no "click" from the compressor. Any help would be appreciated. Worse case scenario the compressor is bad. I did observe that the clutch on the compressor was operating during the AC call. I also think that maybe a fuse is blown. I noticed there are some round style fuses on the passanger's side engine bay. Are they related to the AC? Thanks.

ken inn

on top the thermostat housing is a sensor for the a/c. it is kinda in the way, and might have gotten either removed(i remove it all the time when i am doing stuff in that area) or bumped and broke.

Terry Posten

quote:Originally posted by ken inn: