yubh8tn
(Junior Member)
02/19/21 03:00 PM
Tuner refused to use DSMLink v3?

I get DSM's are old, but a very popular tuner in my area told me that he finds DSMLink "too limited and archaic" and told me if I got a high quality ecm like "Link" that he'd be happy to help. Is DSMLink limited? Did I waste $600 on this when I should have gotten a standalone? I can find another tuner but I heard really great things about this guy and was pretty excited to work with him. Is there merit behind him calling it limited and archaic?

yubh8tn
(Junior Member)
02/19/21 05:23 PM
Re: Tuner refused to use DSMLink v3?

Ok I did some calling around and other tuners in the area were less rude about it and gave me some better explanations. Essentially they didn't wanna deal with compatibility mode.

Appointment set at English Racing in Portland at the end of March


ApexHunter
(Extreme Indoor Cyclist)
02/25/21 04:21 AM
Re: Tuner refused to use DSMLink v3?

You won't regret it. English is tough to beat. I'm no expert on ECM Link but that is some BS. It meets and often exceeds the needs of most in my experience.

CutlassJim
(poop load of room)
02/25/21 07:09 AM
Re: Tuner refused to use DSMLink v3?

I'm a complete noob myself but I've been lucky enough to get some cars running and driving better on a couple different tuning softwares and the big hurdle is learning a new interface. The fundamentals are exactly the same but my first time going from ECMLink to TunerStudio was a lot. Then adding HPtuners on top of that. There seems so be a lot of tuners that know 1,2,3, etc softwares and that's all they want to deal with.

yubh8tn
(Junior Member)
02/27/21 06:01 PM
Re: Tuner refused to use DSMLink v3?

Yeah the not wanting to learn new softwares thing makes sense. It kinda sucks I have to take the car 400 miles away but for it to be tuned by people who know what they're doing and are experienced with DSMLink it's worth it. Plus I get to practice trailering my car around which I'm sure is a skill I'll need to have... lol

Jesus_Negros
(Unempowered ADMIN)
03/04/21 09:24 AM
Re: Tuner refused to use DSMLink v3?

The amount of people who uses ECMlink has decreased so much in the last 10 years, it just isnt lucrative enough to learn as a tuner when you might not have any customers who need it. And it is limited compared to modern standalones. I learned to use ECMlink a long time ago. And I've recently learned other software and I'd honestly would prefer MS or something instead. I am by no means a tuner at all. I just like to DIY and like techy things, I do robotic process automation and machine learning for a living.


Contact Us | Privacy statement GalantVR-4.org

Generated in 0.007 seconds in which 0.005 seconds were spent on a total of 4 queries. Turbo powered.


Hertz's Galant VR-4 Page