JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 03:53 PM
Powering Fuel Pump From Amp? *PIC ADDED*

Hey would there be any drawbacks to powering the Fuel Pump rewire by using a distribution block from my amps...my power wire is too short to reach the front of the car and I already have a block in place...would there be less draw to the fuel pump or what? Thanks

Terry Posten
(Old Balls)
10/17/07 03:56 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

You need to provide us with:

Gauge and length of wire
Fuse size at battery
Amp size and draw


grocery_getter
(Senior Crab)
10/17/07 04:00 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Make sure you have enough AMP reserve in the wire leading to the distribution block and that it is sized and fused properly so when the bass hit and your amp draw extra current, your fuel pump wont be starved of current.

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 04:02 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Gauge & Length - 10AWG & would be approx. a foot and a half from relay to block
Fuse Size - 25 amp
Amp Size - 300W & 150W JL Audio


Polish
(Dr. Pilosh Haagenscodyberger)
10/17/07 04:03 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

What is going from the battery to the block? If only 10 gauge then no dice. For those 2 amps and the fuel pump I'd do a 4 gauge main feed. Then 8 or 10 gauge from the block to the amps/pump. The main fuse will need to be 60-80 amps.

Terry Posten
(Old Balls)
10/17/07 04:04 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

How long is the feed wire from the battery to the power block?

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 04:08 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

OK here we go...from the battery i have: 250 amp big ass fuse with 4 Gauge High Current Power wire all the way to the dist. block and then off the block i have 8 Gauge Wire going to the amps

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 04:10 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Quote:

How long is the feed wire from the battery to the power block?




I can't tell exactly how many feet but maybe 10-11...the battery was relocated to the intake and the dist. block is screwed to the back seats below the little opening (this is looking at it from the trunk)...the power wire runs on the driver side


grocery_getter
(Senior Crab)
10/17/07 04:10 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

What we are all worrying about is if you have enough of a wire size and fuse on the wire leading to the distribution block. That last 1.5 foot from the distribution block to the fuel pump isn't going to be as critical as the main supply to the distribution block with 450W worth of amp already on it.

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 04:10 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

OK sorry about that...i think i clarified everything else up in the last 2 posts

Polish
(Dr. Pilosh Haagenscodyberger)
10/17/07 04:13 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Ok, you are fine then. 4g is good.

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 04:13 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

aight thanks for the help...so i should have ZERO worries letting her go through the dist. block! Great!

Terry Posten
(Old Balls)
10/17/07 04:24 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Run a 10GA wire from the pump housing plate to a frame point (clean all gounding points and then protect). Just because you have 10GA for power does not mean that the pump is gounded good enough stock.

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 05:30 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

no the ground is 10GA IIRC...i ran it from the relay and did everything as per VFAQ

**DONOTDELETE**
(Unregistered)
10/17/07 06:31 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Yes but that's the relay ground; it's not connected to the fuel pump. He's talking about grounding the fuel pump as well, so you're upgrading both the hot and cold sides (relative to the pump) of the circuit for optimal flow. Which is a good idea btw; I'm going to go ground my fuel pump this afternoon. Thanks for the tip.

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
10/17/07 06:44 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Ohh aight I got you now!...I shall do that tomorrow...Thanks

iceman69510
(Turn Right Racing)
10/17/07 08:42 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

I had a grounding issue following my rewire, new fuel pump and reconnecting a wire that broke off the fuel pump housing. I added a second ground to make sure it was good and stable. Good advice to make sure the ground is good, because otherwise it can shut down the fuel system.

JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
05/10/08 09:29 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

Quoting Terry Posten:

Run a 10GA wire from the pump housing plate to a frame point (clean all gounding points and then protect). Just because you have 10GA for power does not mean that the pump is gounded good enough stock.




Bringing this thread back up...would I be able to get away with grounding this wire from the housing plate to the bolt that the rear bumper bolts to (that big ass bolt coupled with another one for the bumper support)??? Thanks


curtis
(Space Blanket from NASA plumbed into the attic)
05/10/08 10:31 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp?

I'll also add its always good when moving the battery to the trunk to run a separate ground all the way to the front into a distribution block. I've seen cars do some werid stuff without it. Also it doesn't hurt to run a larger cable from the alternator over to the fuse block. I actually have two on mine. One is the factory one and the other is just a stock wire from a suzuki grand vitara or something. The whole harness was laying behind my buddies shop so it was free. Its a little larger gauge than the stock vr4 one.


Reason for all this. Why run a 2 gauge positive cable from the battery in the trunk to the front of the car when its only being feed from a wire a 1/4 of the size and is 16 years old.


JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
05/14/08 11:35 AM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp? *PIC ADDED*

Here's a pic for reference:



Would this be a good ground point for the fuel pump rewire?


Wizardawd
(Senior Member)
05/14/08 12:36 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp? *PIC ADDED*

The bolt holding the rear bumper support yes. On the pump, no.

Make sure that you get as much of a paintless, large surface contact point as possilbe. And since the bumper support bolts are fairly beefy, you'll be able to attach a fairly large connector to it as well. Star washers do wonders as well.

Wiz


JSchleim18
(Minor 69er)
05/14/08 12:44 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp? *PIC ADDED*

OK So the bumper support part is a definite...now where would I attatch the other end to actually ground the fuel pump rewire? Do I need to take the fuel pump sending unit back out?

EDIT - It looks like I just need to run the 10G wire from the fuel pump itself to the ground point on the bumper support...Thanks!


marvinmadman
(Senior Member)
05/14/08 09:47 PM
Re: Powering Fuel Pump From Amp? *PIC ADDED*

I had some issues once with my capacitor grounded there. I had to move it to the shock tower. The area was cleaned and everything...


Contact Us | Privacy statement GalantVR-4.org

Generated in 0.006 seconds in which 0.004 seconds were spent on a total of 4 queries. Turbo powered.


Hertz's Galant VR-4 Page