gs300cky
(Junior Member)
04/01/20 10:54 PM
Ecm link ?s

So Iím looking to switch from the key chip to the ecm link.
But I have some questions as itís the first dsm amd obd1 Ive messed up compared to Subaruís and Lexus.
Anyway where is a good site to go find one? I was looking at ecm tuning.com
But I want to make sure I select the right and correct information before purchasing.
I have the maf adapter to the 2g maf amd evo 8 560 injectors
With a larger Intercooler plus the exhaust.
Here is what I selected on my Ecm link but feel like I may be off or I should add things that could be better for later on when I want to add more power.



gs300cky
(Junior Member)
04/01/20 11:19 PM
Re: Ecm link ?s

Sorry it grabbed the wrong picture


yubh8tn
(Junior Member)
04/02/20 10:00 AM
Re: Ecm link ?s

That's the right website and those selections look correct to me besides the maf. You said you have the 2G MAF but have the 3G selected. This is a good website to glance over (http://www.ecmtuning.com/wiki/start), and make sure your ECU is eprom before you send it in, I don't think they can do non-eprom conversions right now.

transparentdsm
(I have to say something dumb Member)
04/03/20 08:13 AM
Re: Ecm link ?s

You have a keydiver chip already installed so the ECU is a eprom and it is already socketed. So those are two big pluses. I would email ecmtuning, tell them everything you have done to the car, send them your ecu to examine it and make sure the ECU is 100%, then have them install and base tune the chip so you can install it, fire the car up and take it to a real tuner who can finalize everything for you.

transparentdsm
(I have to say something dumb Member)
04/03/20 08:15 AM
Re: Ecm link ?s

You also need to replace your ecu case for a proper Galant case. The case needs to be properly mounted in it's spot and it also need to be properly grounded.

Edit: is there a specific reason your switching over to dsmlink? You upgrading parts? Looking for more power or are you trying to resolve an issue you think is being caused by the ECU?


gs300cky
(Junior Member)
04/04/20 12:38 AM
Re: Ecm link ?s

I do have a few spare covers and ecuís so I will swap that out, thank you for looking out though.
And the only real reason I wanted to swap over to the link was to make sure itís tuned properly and not running to rich/ lean or any problems with timing etc. I was really hoping to have full visibility of all the different parameters, if that makes sense


transparentdsm
(I have to say something dumb Member)
04/04/20 10:05 AM
Re: Ecm link ?s

So your basically looking to monitor things.

Might I suggest just getting a wideband to monitor a/f ratios and the chip is set up for the boost gauge to read knock. And if you really want more monitoring look for an old school mmcd palm pilot set up for datalogging. They can still be found and can be left attached and monitoring at all times very easily.

And as long as the ECU is in good condition, all the maintenance is up to date and you don't have any vacuum leaks the car will be running properly. With a boost, oil pressure, wideband and the knock sum gauge you should be good, as once you set up dsmlink you don't usually have a computer with you and run it all the time.


gs300cky
(Junior Member)
04/04/20 10:43 AM
Re: Ecm link ?s

I will have to look into that idea, I always read about people using the palm pilots.
Thank you for the guidance, Iím still trying to learn about these cars and how to clean and modify them correctly.
I finally got a new wire harness installed and sheís running but like I mentioned Iím nervous to take her out especially with no gauge cluster working and seatbelts etc.


slugsgomoo
(god hates stupid people)
04/06/20 06:52 PM
Re: Ecm link ?s

Quoting transparentdsm:

You also need to replace your ecu case for a proper Galant case. The case needs to be properly mounted in it's spot and it also need to be properly grounded.

Edit: is there a specific reason your switching over to dsmlink? You upgrading parts? Looking for more power or are you trying to resolve an issue you think is being caused by the ECU?




to be fair (regarding the mounting) the grounding strap can be bolted in with the DSM case dangling. I put at least 500 miles at a pretty stout power level with it dangling in the footwell, and yelling at passengers not to kick it). That said, when I finally got the galant case, it was so much nicer


transparentdsm
(I have to say something dumb Member)
04/06/20 08:27 PM
Re: Ecm link ?s

I've noticed slight differences during cold starts and it seems to idle a bit smoother, at least in my situation, with the ECU mounted and grounded. When it was dangling on the floor it would take a few more cranks to turn on and it would hunt a bit, once I bolted it in place things changed.


Contact Us | Privacy statement GalantVR-4.org

Generated in 0.003 seconds in which 0.001 seconds were spent on a total of 4 queries. Turbo powered.


Hertz's Galant VR-4 Page