The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Strange issues? Please help!

14of2000

Hey everyone, Thought i would introduce myself.. My name is Mike and i just recently aquired #14/2000, This is definatley not my first gvr4 or dsm. I have had #5/2000 and number 671/2000, unfortunatley I had to sell my baby (671/2000) to buy my house /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bawling.gif But I finally found another gvr4 and I have been restoring it for a few months now. Onto my strange issues, I have searched and searched but these problems I am having I am at a standstill.

So issue #1, when i turn on my car to the acc position with the key my stereo doesnt come on, my windows wont work, my heater will not come on, and my clock wont work until i actually start the car. Once the car is started everything works BUT once i turn it off my clock is reset and so is my stereo. Do you think this can be my caps going bad?

Issue #2 i got the car and the previous owner told me that it needed a clutch so i pulled the tranny and threw in a brand new act 2100 clutch, and replaced all seals on the t case and transmission. However I can drive the car but it goes to about 5 mph and it acts like the clutch is slipping really bad. And the car pretty much slows itself down to a stop. I had the flywheel resurfaced but i have NO IDEA why its doing this. Any input would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

DR1665