The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

need trans help

I hade broken the case on my transaxle and I swapped with another case. Now I assembled it but I am thinking maybe didn't line up detents right or something as it is not shifting properly. I was wondering if anyone has a factory repair manual for this transmission As I am a mechanic but I work for toyota so I haven't torn into any mitsu transmissions but i have rebuilt my share of toyota transmissions. If anyone has a link or could help me out with some info for the repair manual I would greatly appreciate it.
thanks

GVR4_1057

I assume you properly re shimmed all of the taper bearings properly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

GVR4_1057

That will not work. The shims are to adjust the bearing clearance matched to that case. You will have to reshim for that exact setup.

spoulson

Right. When the shafts are shimmer too loose, you'll feel shifted slop and binding depending on driving conditions. Too tight and the shifted has trouble slipping into gear, feeling like you're going to bend the shifter rod.

When the trans is out, you can test the shift quality a bit by using a clutch disk to turn the input shaft while you mess with the levers.

Don't forget to use a good sealant. I recommend Permatex anaerobic sealant (forget the number).

ok. someone sent me a link to the repair manual. I will reshim all the taper bearings. any easy ways to do this or just follow what the manual says.

GVR4_1057