The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Knock problem

Hondakiller

Let see I have been having this problem with knock. The car will lose power and it only does when You are cruising and maintaining speed. From a stop as well but only when when I'm driving normal. Now if I take off from a start and into the throttle hard have no knock. I have a scan master 3 and it's read 43 and flashing all the time. It's been like this from some time now don't know what else to do.

Thanks
Matt

Last edited:

jnava

Staff member
You pretty much have figured out the issue, the goo has probably gone thus making it more sensitive to engine noise. Lifter tick can definitely cause it but first check if the goo is missing off the knock sensor.

LIV4PSI

Yes, the ECU pulls timing when it sees knock. Your computer is trying to slow your car down, because it thinks there is severe detonation.

Last edited:

Hondakiller