The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

I messed up bad.....Wobbling Water Pump Pulley

desant78

Hello Gvr4.org

This is my first build, and I am truly learning a ton as I go. Unfortunately, it was 4am as I was pushing to get the motor into the car, and ran into a bit of a problem.

I mounted the power steering pulley on the wrong side of the water pump (never assume) and when I put the motor in the car, had some clearence issues. I thought they were related to not having all the motor mounts torque and with a bolt, so I did that, and ended up pressing the water pump and power steering pulley into the chasis. I finally did some research, fixed my mistake and now there is a wobbling to my pulley.

video

Look at the bottom of the video you can see how the pulley is wobbling.

Do I need a new water pump pulley? this is a new pulley, along with new timing belt etc. I'll take opinions on the matter, I'm on the fence about replacing the pulley, or breaking out the dial gauge and banging the pulley until it runs relatively true, but that seems like a band-aid.

Let me know, I could use the food for thought real bad.

thank you guys for your time.

transparentdsm

you have to pull that pulley off and see if it bent or if you bent the water pump in it's self. in a more general answer yes it needs to be fixed you can't run the car like that. also if it is a bent pulley ill see if i have one laying in my basement i can send you for free.

EMX5636