The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

First engine build

Fish

Hey everyone, I've finally decided to build an engine for 392. I've built plenty of engines so I know how to do most everything but they have all been stock builds and never a 4g63. I'm fairly new to the performance world so I'm probably going to have tons of stupid questions.

I'm not looking to make all the power in the world but want the car to be fun to drive. I've got an hx35w and plan on using an evo 8 ecu. I've already made a harness for the ecu but haven't run the car on it yet. My plan is to get the stock engine running with a good base tune while the new engine is being built.

First, I'm trying to decide on what balancer to run. I've heard mixed reviews about the fluidampr balancers. Are there any other good options other than fluidampr or a stock one?

Second I'm trying to decide what oil pump to use. This is something that I'm not willing to cheap out on. I want a good quality pump. I'd like to know of everyone's experiences with different pumps and what is going to be best for me.

Thanks for any input on my build. I'm sure everybody will help me out.

jeverts

OEM Mitsu Oil pump. Really no other options unless you go to a dry sump setup. Or Frontline Fab ever finishes there oil pump.

slugsgomoo

Jeverts is right about the oil pump.