The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Exhaust Manifold Gasket

I recently seafoamed my whip and noticed that my exhaust manifold gasket leaks ; ALOT!!!

so bought a new one and I am looking for some pointers and maybe a few pictures on how to take the manifold off.

I am a mechanic so I do have an idea how to do it...obviously but I am looking for some insight on how to make my life a lot easier.

I checked VFAQ and they have a lot of helpful info for those of that a NT 4G63

but not for the 4G63T

let know if any of you guys can H.A.B.O.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

mikus

First you need to tackle the head stud nuts.

You're fortunate that the car runs - soak the ever-loving sh*t out of the mani to head stud nuts with PB blast for the next week, once a day (spray them maybe 30min before a drive each day if it's possible) You'll be glad you did. Beyond that you need:
- various wrenches to get at them - angles are tight, flex head wrenches are hugely helpful here. You'll be going inbetween the runners for some bolts.
- to put new hardware on, at least nuts, maybe new studs. Search the forum to see options. Go at LEAST oem nuts.

Just dive in and take those off, you don't need pics for this. If a head stud came out with the nut, that's OK... If a head stud broke, you're going to need to drill in and back it out. This is why the PB blast.