The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Cooling Fan

Number680

I'm brand new to Mitsubishi's and VR4's so I apologize if I'm asking something stupid. I can work on an F-15 but I don't know much about what I'm doing with cars. I did try to look through the documents and different manuals and that kind of stuff. All the codes and terms don't make much sense to me yet so I'm not really sure what to look for. I did a search but mostly come up with for sale posts.

I just got a VR4 a few days ago and am starting to get things in order. The cooling fan went bad I guess, and the previous owner hooked up a new one. Problem is, he left the old bad fan still hooked up, and just added another fan and wired it up pretty weird. Old fan is mounted in front of the radiator on the drivers side. New fan is mounted behind the radiator on the passenger side. He wired it up to the old fan and to the battery and has a switch inside to turn it on and off.

First order of business is to get that old fan out. Problem is, I'm not sure how to do that. I removed the parts from the hood latch and around that area to try to get it out. It's currently unbolted and just sitting in there, but there's not enough space to slide it out. I'm assuming I need to take out the radiator to get the fan out from that spot. I wanted to make sure I'm not missing something stupid, or if that's the real way to remove that fan.

Thanks in advance and sorry if it's a dumb question.

AllanL

has it got a giant intercooler?
removing the bumper might be the only way to go...