The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

AFR for E85 - recommended Spark plug gap?

Gizmovr4

I'm looking to run the car on E85 this Friday at Island Raceway- What AFR should I be targeting with the AEM wideband set to regular gas? 12:1 ? 12.5:1 ? for E85 whats the recommended spark plug gap if I run 30PSI? Any recommendations from those runing E85?

Muskrat

I'm assuming you have enough injector to run E85?

I'm not an expert, but here's some info:
Stochiometric afr for E85 is 9.7:1 vs. 14.7:1 for regular gas.
I don't know if the wideband needs to be recalibrated for E85 or not.

thecman02

If you have the wideband set for gas 12:1 or even 12.5:1 should be okay. I'd run the largest gap you can get away with, but I wouldn't think .028 would be a bad place to start. If you get misfires close em up some. If you still have misfires with gaps much smaller then .024-.02 then I'd say you need to get your ignition system up to par.

Last edited:

Nartanian

11.8:1 wouldn't be bad either.

Last edited:

Street Surgeon

30psi? Use some BR8ES or BR9ES plugs and gap for .25 to .22 (the larger you can get away with the better)

Nartanian

Missed that part. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/uhh.gif

Brianawd

No need to use a cooler plug. E85 burns cooler so you can get away with a hotter plug. I find that 6s-7s work best. I run 7s in the hot summer and 6s in the spring and fall when the temps start to drop. I find if I run 7s I in the cold I have to drop my gap down to 18-22. When running the 6s I can keep my gap around 27-28.