The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

Advice: Transmission related vibrations

cspetros

I'll try to make this as detailed and organized as possible. I have no experience with the transmission side of these cars, so any advice/info is appreciated. If I can add to this, let me know. The transmission is the W5M31, the car is a 1990 Galant GSX.

Essentially, my car has terrible vibrations that occur within the 2000-3000 RPM range while the clutch is engaged. It started about 5 or 6 months ago, but has recently gotten a LOT worse. It is so bad now, that the coins in my coin tray jump around. The vibration also seems to be load related, because if I'm accelerating, the vibration is much worse. It is not engine related as far as I can tell (I ruled out balance shafts when the issue first started); the vibration stops immediately whenever I disengage the clutch (pedal down).

Shifting quality has taken a nose dive. Sometimes, if I'm stopped, I have to fight the shifter to get it out of fifth gear. If the car is rolling, it's easy to take out of fifth. Shifting into first and second is much more difficult (notchy?) now than it used to be, and third gear is always crunchy now (It occasionally crunched when I first bought the car, due to worn/bad synchros).