The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

978 Balance Shaft Issues

To give you guys some history, I purchased this beautiful Galant in February 2009. Since then a number of updated parts grew on the list. I'm trying to preserve it stock wise for daily driving. I'm a technician, so the labor is my experience. It had oil, coolant, and flex exhaust leak I had to address. I replaced almost everything from water pump to various gaskets and pulleys. New fluids from engine to rear differential. Not a single maintenance wasn't covered. I wasn't taking any chances. Now that you know my galant is being kept well, the issue now boils down to the balance shaft. I replaced the balance belt with a brand new belt and 1,000 miles later... Broken belt left with no groove marks or teeth. Apparently enough to jump the timing that was aligned properly. It cracked the oil pump which will be another part I'll have to purchase this week. How could this have happened? I'm wondering if I should just go ahead and install a balance shaft eliminator kit? I have a new rebuilt head that I'm not willing to sacrifice unless I know what method to take. All this money I've spent on parts alone could have gotten me a crate motor already. What shall I do??

SmoothCustomer

YES, DELETE YOUR BALANCE SHAFTS! If you can give me one GOOD reason not to, maybe I will change my mind but next time that broken balance shaft belt will get tangled and break your timing belt, I promise.