The Top Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 Resource

Join the best E39A 1991-1992 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4 community and document your GVR4 journey.

• Software Upgraded - Reset Your Password to Login
    In order to log in after the forum software change, you need to reset your password. If you don't have access to the email address you used to register your GVR4.org account, you won't be able to reset your password. In that case, follow the instructions here to regain access to the forum.

849 rolling again!

PlatypusOfFury

Hey all,

Ever since the 90's I've wanted a VR4, in july I was able to get 849/1000. Picked her up for about $4k. Body is pretty damn clean for her age, but the engine and exhaust were pretty torn up. It's been a long road of patching this gal up, especially since I've never worked on a DSM before (thanks to all that helped and this site in general). Now 849 is back on the road!

lowdown of issues:
Cracked valve cover
Ghetto as hell exhaust system. AKA, downpipe to cat to some welded on pipe ending at the back seats.
Exhaust manifold was leaking badly from the head.
14b turbo was shot! leaked oil and coolant. had a stray bolt in the intake that destroyed the turbine.
Cracked headlights, cracked turnsignals, and a set of messed up foglights.
stripped oil feed line from the head to turbo.

Fixes:
replaced valve cover from a talon. Craigslisted that for like $10
New dual tip Turbo-back system from CM performance. $1000
FP exhaust manifold (pretty oxidized, but working great!) and new carbon gasket. craigslist again ($30)
Evo III 16G turbo. Craigslisted of some subaru kid who didn't do his research. $200
New headlights, and turners, from DDM's partout.
Changed out headlights and fogs to HID deep blues. Ebay for $40
Retapped the Oil Feed with 10x1.25 Helicoil. Amazon $20
1G short shift w/ leather boot swapped out. Junkyard for about $5
Autometer 60mm liquid filled boost guage. free from a Cyclone intake I'm building up
EGR and BCS deleted.